Skip to main content

Hyperliquid and Lighter data providers compared

Published 8 min read

0xArchive comparison · Data providers

This page compares eight providers that sell Hyperliquid market data through an API: 0xArchive, Tardis.dev, CoinAPI, Kaiko, Dwellir, Hydromancer, GoldRush and QuickNode. Of these, 0xArchive and Tardis document Lighter history too. They differ most on three things: how far back the history goes, whether the book comes as price levels or as single orders with wallets, and how you get the data.

Every fact below comes from the provider's own documentation, pricing page or public API, checked on 24 October 2026. Coverage changes fast, so each table says when a provider does not state something rather than guessing.

Hyperliquid history starts in 2023, 2024 or 2025 depending on the provider

ProviderHyperliquid history fromLighter history from
0xArchiveBook 15 Apr 2023, complete trades 22 Mar 2025Trades 17 Jan 2025, book 29 Jan 2026
CoinAPI27 Sep 2024Not stated
Tardis.dev29 Oct 202417 Apr 2026
DwellirNode archive 25 Jan 2025Not stated
GoldRush25 May 2025Not stated
HydromancerFree archive 28 Jul 2025Not stated
KaikoTrades 4 Dec 2025Not in its exchange list
QuickNodeNot statedNot stated

The dates are each provider's earliest stated start, and most vary by market and data type. 0xArchive keeps Hyperliquid trades from April 2023 too, but they are partial before 22 March 2025, so the table gives the complete date.

Order-level Hyperliquid books are common live and rarer as stored history

A price-level book (L2) tells you there are 40 BTC bid at a price. An order-level book (L4 on Hyperliquid, L3 on Lighter) tells you it is twelve orders, and on Hyperliquid which wallet placed each one. Live order-level feeds are now common. Stored history of them is not, and its start date is the number to compare.

ProviderOrder-level bookStored history from
0xArchiveL4 with wallets, plus Lighter L310 Mar 2026, Lighter 5 Mar 2026
DwellirL4 with walletsRaw diffs 22 Jan 2026, snapshots 14 Apr 2026
CoinAPIL4 with walletsHourly files 9 Jun 2026, older files undated
QuickNodeL4 stream, order diffs in SQLNot stated
HydromancerL4 with wallets, liveNot stated
GoldRushL4 with wallets, liveNot stated
Tardis.devNone, price levels onlyNot applicable
KaikoNot statedNot stated

Dwellir's raw order diffs start earlier than 0xArchive's L4, and you rebuild the book from them yourself; its queryable historical book API is listed as coming soon. 0xArchive serves the rebuilt book by timestamp. Of the eight providers here, 0xArchive is the one whose documentation lists an order-level book for Lighter.

Delivery runs from free S3 files to custom contracts

ProviderHow you get itEntry price, 24 Oct 2026
0xArchiveREST, WebSocket replay, Parquet, MCPFree for 30 days of history, Build $49 a month
Tardis.devCSV files, HTTP API, local replayPerpetuals plan from $350 a month
CoinAPIREST, WebSocket, FIX, S3 files, MCPPay as you go, plans from $79 a month
KaikoAPI, CSV, streaming, SnowflakeCustom quote
DwellirWebSocket, gRPC replay, S3 filesFree API plan, gRPC $299 a month
HydromancerREST, WebSocket, free S3 archiveArchive free, API from $300 a month
GoldRushREST, WebSocket, warehouse streamsTrial free, plans from $10 a month
QuickNodeREST, gRPC, SQL, StreamsBook streams from $49 a month

Usage charges sit on top of several of these plans, and history depth can depend on the billing term. Tardis, for example, includes four months of history on monthly billing and four years on yearly.

Which provider fits which job

Your jobStrong fitWhy
Backtest on Hyperliquid books since 20230xArchiveBook history from April 2023
Order-level research on both venues0xArchiveHyperliquid L4 and Lighter L3 stored
Hyperliquid next to 50+ other exchangesTardis.dev or CoinAPIOne schema across venues
Raw node data to rebuild yourselfDwellir or Hyperliquid's own S3Raw node files to rebuild from
Free Hyperliquid snapshots, no supportHydromancer's archiveFree, 20 levels each minute
Wallet flows next to market dataGoldRush or QuickNodeFills, ledgers and SQL tables
Institutional contract, many venuesKaikoEnterprise terms

Hyperliquid and Lighter publish raw history of their own

Hyperliquid puts L2 snapshots and node fills in requester-pays S3 buckets, uploaded about once a month, and its docs warn: “There is no guarantee of timely updates and data may be missing.” Lighter publishes every trade since its 17 January 2025 launch and hourly open interest as Parquet files.

Both are raw material: free or close to it, and yours to download, parse and keep current. The native API comparison covers what each venue's own API keeps.

Each provider compared one to one

Amberdata, Allium, Laevitas and Glassnode also list Hyperliquid data on their own sites, and Allium lists Lighter. The single-provider pages go deeper on coverage, price and fit: Tardis, CoinAPI, Kaiko, Dwellir, Hydromancer, GoldRush and QuickNode. For backtesting specifically, see market data APIs for backtesting.

Route references

Use the REST reference for order books, trades, funding and liquidations, the Hyperliquid L4 reference for order-level books with wallets, the Lighter L3 reference for Lighter's order-level book, and venue coverage for each market's start dates.

For current API availability and plan details, use the Hyperliquid data API, data catalog, pricing, and status.